Mutual aid is covered under RSA 154:30 for fire and RSA153A:19 for EMS. To form a Mutual Aid District, the communities involved must petition the State Fire Marshal. The State Fire Marshal holds hearings and then the municipalities vote to approve.

There are currently 13 Mutual Aid Districts in the state and they belong to the Federation of Mutual Aid. There are communities in Maine, Vermont, and Massachusetts that belong to various mutual aid organizations throughout the state. Besides providing mutual aid, these organizations may also be used for joint training, group purchases, coordination of equipment purchases, and dispatch.

  1. Mutual Aid (PDF)